10 ways you know you’re a bschool applicant, buzzfeed-style

1. You simultaneously cannot survive with or without the GMATClub and other MBA forums.

need-help

 

2. You inexplicably start the process of recruiting for post-MBA jobs before you even start your first day of school.

tumblr_mb67yewiVA1rcr691o1_500

 

3. Suddenly, the numbers between 700 and 800 take on a kind of heavenly aura to them.

dr00L

 

4. Every day, you tell someone a detailed plan of your short- and long-term goals, but inside you are screaming I DON’T KNOW WHAT I WANT TO DO WITH MY LIFE!!!

tumblr_lpoxyb0e7U1qii6tmo1_500

 

5. You spend an inordinate amount of time calculating odds and computing your chances of admission knowing full well that your numbers are completely meaningless.

tumblr_n34grj2A0d1tnj0c4o1_500

 

6. You suddenly start meeting so many awesome people with so many different backgrounds that you create a stalker-ish list in Excel to keep track of everyone.

who-are-you-again

 

7. You become an expert on area codes.

tumblr_m7h0cuzqPb1rrqg8z

734: Ann Arbor!! And sometimes even area codes that aren’t provided. “Unknown” caller ID?: Ithaca!! One more loss for you, Yellow Pages.

 

8. You go through a Jekyll-and-Hyde mental process that goes something like this:”That guy isn’t that great, and he got into Wharton. I’m totally gonna get in!!…”that person owns her own multi-million dollar company, founded a nonprofit on the side and spends three months a year feeding starving children in Africa. I’M SCREWED!”

EYCpVpx

 

9. You pick up an uncanny skill to transform every weakness you have into a strength.

I'm_Awesome!!!

 

10. Every time you receive an email blast from the admissions office, your heart skips a beat and you wonder…is this specifically directed toward me? What does this mean???

giphy

14 thoughts on “10 ways you know you’re a bschool applicant, buzzfeed-style

  1. Hey! I got into Yale too, and I’m going there! Tell me you’re at least going to consider it?! It would be lovely to have you there!

    • CONGRATS ag!! Well, I haven’t crossed it out completely, but it will probably end up being a money-based decision in the end for me. I’m not sure if Yale has given out all scholarship decisions yet, but since I started out waitlisted I’m guessing it’s not looking too good. There’s a lot to love about SOM, though!

      • Hello MBA my way! I actually seem to have gotten same decisions as you. I got into Johnson and Yale SOM both second round. I am having a hard time deciding between the two. I really loved both!

      • But Yale has that amazing loan forgiveness program, which could totally–over the years–make up for the loss of a scholarship from Johnson!

      • Awesome, congratulations!! Did you visit both Johnson and SOM? I didn’t get a chance to visit New Haven. What are your thoughts on the differences between the two schools?

      • I did visit both during interviews! I thought New Haven had a “less small town” feel than Ithaca. I fell in love with Evans Hall which is quite different from Sage Hall but that is obviously not the key point of the b-school decision. I felt Yale SOM administration had put in a lot of effort on planning a great experience for applicants where as Johnson was less organized, yet everyone was so responsive that I essentially planned a similar experience for myself (attending an Immersion Program class, talking to students over lunch and at different clubs, etc). I am looking to go into investment banking and I took a deep look at the employment report and I can’t see too many differences in terms of the companies I am looking to recruit for, but I like the fact that New Haven is easily accessible to New York on the train which might make it easier to commute back and forth. I also an hoping to work internationally and I think Yale (not SOM but broader university) does carry a bit of a better brand awareness. I felt there was more electives at Yale despite the fact it was a small school, however I love Johnson Immersion Programs (I particularly liked the one for the career I am prepping for). I felt that Yale SOM offered more school trips (even in orientation there is a broader selection than Johnson) and that might end up playing a big part of my global exposure experience, however there was enough at Johnson to not make me feel disappointed. I felt students at both schools were really helpful during my application process. The students at Johnson even helped me with my interview prep! And the students at Yale did do a great job in meeting me one on one to share their experiences. On a very random note, I have fallen in love with the bulldog mascot… I can’t help it!

      • Interesting–I only did two on-campus interviews (Johnson and Anderson), and Johnson’s felt way more organized than Anderson’s so I was really impressed by it. Funny how things compare!

        It sounds like you’re leaning toward SOM. If you’re looking to end up in NYC for investment banking or otherwise, I could see New Haven being a real advantage. With you on the Yale name carrying more weight, too.

    • I read a suggestion somewhere about keeping track of networking contacts in Excel, though I can’t remember the source right now. I thought it was a great idea, especially since my memory skills are average, at best!

Leave a Reply

