More thoughts on Johnson [on to round 2]

keep-calm-and-omg-ponies-22 I have two schools lined up for round 2, and I just submitted my Johnson app today, which is also the last day to submit (definitely pushed this one right to the edge)! The TOC essay question was really tough. One of my majors in college was creative writing, and usually I’d just go crazy and have a lot of fun with this kind of funky format. I was initially thinking about following a comic strip-type template for it (all dialogue: setup – question – punchline), but 300 words was too limiting. Plus it made my snarky/ironic side come out, and I don’t think adcom members are too drawn to that kind of tone.

I previously mentioned that Johnson is my dark horse. Cornell’s MBA program continues to impress me, and it’s hard to pinpoint exactly how. The few Johnson adcom members I’ve communicated with struck me as very genuine whereas others seemed like they were reciting lines from a book and a couple even seemed cold and arrogant. But, maybe more importantly, I can envision the rest of my life playing out in the long term with Cornell as my base. Like I said before, I know a lot of people don’t consider applying to Cornell because of its location, but Ithaca is actually why I DID apply to Cornell. I’ve lived in huge cities in the US my whole life, and I’ve always wanted out. I think I’m somewhat of a country girl at heart. But I also don’t know what I’m talking about, because I’ve only lived an urban life! But I *think* my dream life would involve a home surrounded by natural beauty that’s semi-agricultural. I’d like to grow things. And, yes, take care of animals. Chickens, at least. Maybe a goat. Or…OMG PONIES!

It’s a long ways off, I know. I’m probably thinking more about retired life or something like that. But Cornell (and Ithaca) seem like a small step in the right direction. It would give me a taste of the kind of area that I supposedly want to live in. Whenever I talk about this, my friends and family say that I would die without having immediate access to pho or Korean BBQ or great Mexican food or Asian grocery stores and that the lack of diversity would drive me crazy. I could definitely see that being a problem. But enough to be a deal breaker? I’m not sure. I need to find out.

I also wrote an essay for the Park Leadership Fellowship Program, of course. It would be a miracle if I was awarded a FULL RIDE for bschool. Chances are mighty slim, but once again–I can’t not try.

I can’t believe I’ll hear the yea/nay from Yale in less than a week. I will definitely be eyeing my phone all day on Monday. And I will be very sad if I don’t get a call. I’m definitely a huge SOM fan. According to what I’ve been able to glean from forums, round 1 decisions from Yale will all be released on Monday (phone calls for admits, online notification for denies); congratulatory calls from Kellogg will probably begin on Monday, December 16 with all decisions officially released on December 18; and UCLA Anderson may release some decisions on Friday, December 20th, if past patterns hold true (the true notification date for Anderson is January 28). I’ve got an exciting 2-3 weeks coming up!

6 thoughts on “More thoughts on Johnson [on to round 2]

  1. I’m a first year at Johnson and stumbled onto your blog out of Winter Break boredom. Congrats on the Anderson admit! No easy task.

    I also read that you were interested in UC Davis for their vet school and well, Cornell is no slouch in that department either.

    Best of luck with the rest of your decisions – it’ll be a lot less stressful knowing you’ve got an admit in the bag.

  2. Just came across your blog and am very impressed! Cool way to document the process.
    It’s a shame you can’t speak about this blog for your interviews to maintain your anonymity. Cornell’s a very entrepreneurial school, I think adcom would be impressed with this blog.

    • Thanks friend! You know…I was just thinking the same thing. I do wish that Johnson adcom could see my blog in some ways. More so because it really explains why I love Johnson in a candid/casual format that essays and interviews can’t really capture.

  3. Pingback: Johnson interview [Hello, Ithaca!] | MBA the nonprofit way
  4. Pingback: In from Yale SOM’s waitlist [admit #4] | MBA the nonprofit way

Leave a Reply

