Pondering more schools for round 2 [A penny for your thoughts?]

urlI’ve been thinking about adding one or two schools to my list for round 2, and I’m feeling a bit lost. Help?

I first considered Tuck because it seems to be the exact environment I want to be in (even for the long term): Rural and beautiful with a small tight-knit community. Their Center for Business & Society seems awesome. But after poking around a bit, I don’t think I will apply purely because I don’t think I have a good (or any) chance of admission. That’s further emphasized by the fact that I cannot make the visit out there to interview on campus, which Tuck seems to all but say out loud is a requirement for admission. I’m sure there’s exceptions for international folks or other standouts, but I doubt they’d think I had a good excuse. If I even did have a chance, my lack of interviewing on campus would be the final nail in the coffin, I think.

I’ve also been considering Fuqua and Ross. I also thought about adding UC Davis because their strong agricultural/veterinary programs seemed to have potential to partner with for animal-related causes. I could possibly see McDonough…it seems like a lot of the paths I’m attracted to end up dealing with policy, so being in DC could be helpful.

Does anyone have any ideas? I’d love to hear them!

12 thoughts on “Pondering more schools for round 2 [A penny for your thoughts?]

    • I’m definitely going to look further into Fuqua. I already submitted for haas during round 1, but haven’t received an interview invite as of yet–I’m guessing it’s a ding. Haven’t looked into European schools–moving abroad would pose some pretty serious challenges for me at this point, so I don’t think it’s quite feasible, unfortunately.

  1. I’m also in the biz school application process. I’m don’t know a lot about Fuqua and Tuck, but Ross is definitely one of my top schools. It’s a great school, alums who I have met can’t say enough good things about their time there, and the network is HUGE! Def check out the MAP projects that students complete in 1st year. I also like that it’s a top program, but you feel like you may actually have a chance to get in ya know. I agree that if you def want to enroll this fall, it’s probably a good idea to apply round 2 with a couple higher ranked schools (b/c that’s the name of the game) but also at least 2 safety ones. Safety schools that have good programs of course but are maybe ranked a little lower- top 30 or so. Good luck!

  2. Hmmm. If I were you, I’d still apply to Tuck. You have an authentic interest in it, the program seems like a good match, and surely, surely adcom must realize that some applicants (like all of us underpaid nonprofit peons) can’t fly across the country on their whim, as much as we’d like to!

    Otherwise, have you considered any international schools? LBS has a February 28th deadline (not their final round). It might be really interesting to get a more global perspective on animal welfare; there’s the growth of the pet market/pet culture in places like China, the huge problem of stray dogs in India, different cultural/religious perceptions of animals like dogs or swine, etc. Also, didn’t the animal welfare movement formally originate in the UK?

  3. Pingback: I’m going to change the name of this blog to “How to get waitlisted for bschool” [Kellogg waitlist] | MBA the nonprofit way
  4. Pingback: How to Get Waitlisted for B-School?
  5. Pingback: A new year with new schools to add to my applications | MBA the nonprofit way
  6. Pingback: A new year with new schools to add to my applications | MBA the nonprofit way
  7. Pingback: New Year, New B-Schools to Add to My Applications

Leave a Reply

