I’M DONE WITH APPS! yesssssssssssssss

stick_a_fork_in_heart_im_done_print-rcfce5cff037f4e3ba9cc72b81ec5e9f4_wad_8byvr_512I submitted my Fuqua app last night, which means that I am DONE filling out business school applications and will NEVER EVER FILL OUT ANOTHER ONE AGAIN! Whoooooooooooop! It feels pretty awesome, I must say.

So here’s what I’ve got lined up for the next couple months (I’m laying this out more for my sake than yours):

HAAS:

Berkeley will release final decisions next week (1/15). I wasn’t invited for an interview, so, as I mentioned previously, I’m quite sure this will be a ding. I used to think that I’d be super sad about a ding from Haas, but I’m not feeling it anymore. I think my expectations were pretty off when I began this entire process, so I’ve readjusted.

JOHNSON:

No interview invites have gone out for round 2 yet, but they should start coming very, very soon. After all, decisions are released in about a month (2/5). So if I don’t receive an invite in the next couple weeks, I’d say my chances are very low.

SOM and KELLOGG waitlist statuses:

I’m still figuring out my game plan on how to improve my candidacy at these two schools. Yale gave me their feedback, and their feedback was…that they had no specific feedback. I’m still waiting on feedback from Kellogg. Those sour grapes that I was tasting before? I no longer feel the same way at all. I just want in no matter how it happens, and I wouldn’t feel bad about it one bit!! I need to stew on this a bit more, but I’m aiming to have something put together for both schools by early February. It seems like more people get off the Kellogg waitlist than SOM’s, but SOM still has hold of my heart.

ROSS:

Seems like interview invites for round 2 went out on 1/10 (wow, quick turnaround) and  2/4 last year, so maybe it will repeat this year (?)

FUQUA:

If I don’t receive an interview invite by 2/6, it’ll be a ding for me (I didn’t interview during the open interview period). If I do get an invite, interviews will be held somewhere between 2/10-2/25.

ANDERSON:

Preview Day for admits is on 2/27, and I’ll be there.

Then we get into March, which will be tough. Anderson’s round 1 deposit deadline is on March 12th. On the 13th, Fuqua releases round 2 decisions. On the 14th, Ross releases round 2 decisions. Oh, also, Johnson’s round 2 deposit deadline is March 5th. Everything is crazy up in the air right now, but there seems to be a possibility of losing a deposit, which would suck big time. But I’m guessing that happens way more than people think…

Meanwhile, I’m taking a pre-MBA refresher math class online. Taking the GMAT reminded me how to do long division, but, seriously, I’ve lost all the calculus I ever learned. And I’ve never applied any sophisticated math to business scenarios, so I really need some review. I really don’t want to start business school already behind (I mean, I’ll probably be behind on some level, but I’m going to try to minimize it), so I’m going to try to take as many classes as I can to prepare before fall rolls around.

14 thoughts on “I’M DONE WITH APPS! yesssssssssssssss

  1. Congrats it’s a great feeling! I submitted my last app too just holding my breath to see whether I end up at any b-schools this year now

      • Thank you so much for this blog. Very helpful. Do you have any ideas why you weren’t invited to interview at Haas? Your stats seem top-notch!

      • I actually don’t think my stats are *that* great, especially for a school as competitive as Haas–I’d say they are qualifying, at best. Also, my nonprofit professional background is not impressive in the traditional sense (no blue chip companies on my resume, nor do I manage an entire department of people or something like that).

        I also think there is a good amount of confusion over what I want to do in the animal stewardship sector…in fact, I just spoke with an adcom member at another school who asked me for clarification about it. When I told him that there are marketing jobs at organizations like the ASPCA or Humane Society that say “MBA preferred” in the job description, he was truly surprised. Sometimes I think that even adcom members don’t know the reach of their own degree program!

  2. Hey! So I got the same feedback as you did from Yale. Just wondering…did they tell you that you’ll get a final decision by the end of Round 2 (which I assume to mean the notification date for R2 admits)?

  3. Pingback: Stacy Blackman’s B-School Buzz | The GMAT Club
  4. Pingback: Watch out, Johnson, here I come! [Johnson 2016] | MBA the nonprofit way
  5. Pingback: Johnson 2016, Here I Come!
  6. Pingback: In from Yale SOM’s waitlist [admit #4] | MBA the nonprofit way

Leave a Reply

