Johnson said YES!! [admit #2]

Thanks to a blog post by Christine Sneva, all us R2-ers knew to look for calls a little earlier than originally expected. When my phone rang (well, vibrated–I never have my ringer on. Actually, I don’t even know what my default ringtone is), my heart promptly wedged itself into a very awkward angle in my throat. A very friendly voice said she was calling from the Johnson Graduate School of Management, at which point I let out what sounded like a combination laugh/squeal/choking sound, but I let her go on. I really can’t remember what her actual words were, but I already knew what she was going to say. And I was crazy happy about it [insert many smiley faces here]!!!

I was told to expect an email and an admit packet to be mailed via FedEx. (I appreciated this little detail, because FedEx never delivers successfully to my building. I don’t know what it is, but they just refuse to enter and leave packages. Knowing to expect the delivery will help a lot.) Johnson’s admit weekend, Destination Johnson, is scheduled for April 11-13. And, perhaps most importantly of all, all scholarship notifications will happen within the next ten days.

Which brings me to my next conundrum. Like I’ve said before, it would be very, very hard for me to seriously consider enrolling at other schools and paying full price when I have a 40k Forte Fellowship offer from UCLA Anderson. I don’t have much in savings and am not expecting to make a ton of money in the nonprofit sector even with an MBA, so financial aid must play a huge role in my decision. Although I want to throw the biggest party in the world to celebrate my admission to Cornell, I’m a bit hesitant. I still don’t really know what my situation is… and I probably won’t know for another several days. I don’t want to get all worked up and excited for something that may not be able to pan out in the end 😦 (I hope that’s the last sad face I ever publish on this blog!)

Meanwhile, interview invites from Fuqua should come out tomorrow, so I’ll be somewhat distracted by that. I also have my Ross interview coming up very soon that I will be prepping for. I wish I could take a little break at this point, but time moves on!

8 thoughts on “Johnson said YES!! [admit #2]

  1. I think Cornell has some sort of loan forgiveness program for people who end up working in a non-profit environment after their MBAs, provided you take a loan from their credit union. Not 100% sure about this, but this could be worth looking into. Don’t quote me on that, though 🙂

    • Thanks Koteho! I asked them about this before–they apparently have a program where they just subsidize one graduate who works in nonprofit, so there’s not much support there, sadly. They do have a lot of support for those going into entrepreneurship, though.

  2. Pingback: Fridays from the Frontline - Clear Admit Blog
  3. hey I just discovered your blog this morning and read/skimmed the entire thing. couldn’t help myself 🙂 because I know exactly what you’re going through, having gone through this process myself last year (I’m a current 1st year at Johnson). Congrats on the admit to Cornell! it’s a fantastic school (as I’m sure Anderson is). if you have any hard hitting questions about living here or the school, feel free to shoot me an e-mail and I promise to give you the straight answer to the best of my ability.

    good luck with your upcoming decision!

    • Thanks friend! And thanks for your comment. I love hearing from current Johnson students–so many of you have reached out to me (either via this blog or in response to my questions) and it never ceases to impress. And the common thread among all of you is your willingness to give honest responses, even to a prospective. I really appreciate it.

  4. Pingback: Ross interview recap | MBA the nonprofit way

Leave a Reply

