Admitted to Ross [and waitlist #3]

tattly_mike_lowery_yay_burst_web_design_1_grandeSo…although I’ve already put my deposit down at Johnson, the timing of everything is staggered and I’ve still been receiving news from other schools in the meanwhile. A couple days ago, I found out that I was admitted to Ross with a $20k scholarship! Yay!

But, simply put, Ross’ offer isn’t enough to take me away from Johnson. And that’s not because I have anything against Ross. It’s just–timing. I added Ross as a round 2 app late last year; I didn’t know much about the school before that. But everything I’ve learned since then is spectacular, and the school seems like a good fit. I totally loved the alum who interviewed me, and their nonprofit programming is great. But I’ve never set foot on the UMich campus and have never been to Ann Arbor before. Everything I’ve learned about both tells me I’d like both of those places, but I’ve still never actually experienced it. It comes down to this: Although I am pretty sure Ross would be a good fit for me, I am MORE sure that Johnson is a good fit for me. If I had the time, I could explore Ross and make a better informed decision, but I don’t. So I’m sticking with good old Johnson, who I know I love and am very happy with.

In other news, after not being invited to interview at Fuqua, I completely forgot about Duke in general. So I was surprised when I received an email the other day saying that my decision was ready to view online…and I was UNsurprised to find that I was waitlisted. So my final tally is that I was waitlisted at three of the eight schools I applied to. I’d say that’s a pretty high proportion (and I have lots of theories about that, which I may go over in a later post). But I won’t be joining the Fuqua waitlist, anyway. I wouldn’t pick a late admit at Fuqua with no money over Johnson, no siree.

Now that this whole bschool application process is basically over, I can look back and say “Damn, I should have done this and should not have done that.”

Here’s my Coulda-Woulda-Shoulda’s:

  • I should not have bothered applying to GSB. It felt wrong from the very beginning and was a total waste of time and effort. I guess I should say the same about Haas since I was straight up dinged by them, too, but I don’t feel the same way at all about Berkeley. It really seemed like there was a potential for fit between me and Haas, so I decided to try. But I applied to GSB because–I don’t know–it’s GSB? Dumb reasoning.
  • I should have included Ross in my round 1 applications. The only reason I didn’t was because I stuck with familiar entities for my first round, and I hadn’t had any first-hand experience with the University of Michigan. But I wish I had done more research so I could have learned more about Ross while I had the time.
  • Although I heard everyone saying “Get your story down” when I started this process, I didn’t really understand it. I started this journey with a very hard-nosed eye on numerical results, especially when it came to talking about my own work. And that promptly made me discouraged. All my nonprofit-ness didn’t really provide any opportunities for me to boast about multimillion dollar projects and the like. It took me awhile to understand that the story–and by that, I mean the drama–is nearly as important as numerical values. And the nonprofit world is ripe for drama. Every org has a near-impossible to achieve mission, right? Wipe out world hunger. Save every animal. Give every family a home. The drama is basically built in! I wish I caught on to this sooner.

Of course, these thoughts probably take up less than 1% of my brain nowadays. I am truly ecstatic to enroll at Johnson. I also think I am supremely lucky to be in the position I am now. On this day last year, I wasn’t even planning on going to business school at all. Can you believe that?? I can’t believe how much things have changed since then.

5 thoughts on “Admitted to Ross [and waitlist #3]

  1. Congratulations on Johnson and the scholarship! It’s obvious that you really love Johnson 🙂 Did you decide to stay on the waitlist at Yale?

  2. Congrats on the admit. Sounds like you’re totally set on Johnson. You’ve had a pretty darn good application season all round!

  3. Pingback: Fridays From the Frontline - Clear Admit Blog

Leave a Reply

