My Q&A with Accepted.com (and letting go of anonymity)

School at Johnson is now in full swing, and I can confirm that what everyone says about bschool is true: There just aren’t enough hours in the day to do everything you want to do. I thought I could still maintain some semblance of normalcy once school started, but no. EVERYTHING has changed! I’m sure that’s not true for everyone (especially if you don’t move to attend school or if you’re not doing a career switch), but it certainly is for me. I’ve changed my home, my financial situation (omg, the loans!), my long-term goals and my overall attitude towards work and career. It’s kind of mind-boggling.

And it’s also true that your time as a student generally breaks down into three categories: 1) Classes/studying; 2) Career Prep; and 3) Social life. And it is quite simply impossible to do all three to their fullest. Something has to give. Each person has his/her own priorities, so choose wisely. And, of course, all three are interrelated, so it’s certainly not a good idea to put all your effort towards one.

Anyway, back to the thing that prompted me to write this post: I was recently profiled (for the second time–previous interview here) by Accepted.com. But this time, I did not interview anonymously. Anonymity is much less important to me now that the application process is over. I also believe in everything I wrote on this blog. I may have grayed out/generalized some details about myself just to keep the anonymity going, but that’s pretty much it. 

Before I link to the profile with my real name on it, let me ask you a question: Have you ever fallen in love with a radio host or DJ and thought they were the most charming, funniest and awesome person in the world? And then did you Google them and see their photo and find out what kind of person they actually were? And did you feel the wave of disappointment wash over you afterward?

Now, I’m not saying that any of you out there are fans of me like that (not at all!), but there’s something about anonymity that lets us make up a picture in our minds of another person that’s really…fun! Honestly, I wish I hadn’t taken the time to find out more about some of my favorite radio hosts/bloggers/etc. It was just more fun and satisfying without all the details. But hey, here’s the link to my interview if you still want to know.

